In ancient time the region Mohla-Manpur- Ambagarh Chowki was under the Chando (Chandrapur) state, which was ruled by Gond kings. It was divided in 3 riyasats namely Koracha, Panabaras and Aamagarh.

Panabaras riyasat was biggest among them. At the time of independence it was part of central province. Initially it was coming under durg district, but after formation of Rajnandgaon district in the year 1973, it became a part of Rajnandgaon district. On 2nd Sep 2022 the district Mohla-Manpur-Ambagarh Chowki came into existence after being separated from Rajnandgaon district.